Text TEXAS To 48065 - Join Senator Creighton and Let Texas Run Texas

Lone Star College faculty recognized by national organization

June 17, 2016

The Potpourri – Magnolia Edition

The National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) at The University of Texas at Austin granted 20 Lone Star College faculty members with the NISOD Excellence Award during its recent conference.

The NISOD Excellence Award provides NISOD members the opportunity to acknowledge and honor individuals who have made exceptional contributions at their respective institutions. According to NISOD, receiving a NISOD Excellence Award demonstrates that the recipient’s college identifies and appreciates their educational contributions.

“Lone Star College has some of the finest instructors anywhere,” said Dr. Stephen C. Head, LSC chancellor. “It is a privilege to work with this very dedicated group of educators and I am delighted that they are getting the recognition they deserve.”

“NISOD is proud to continue our long history of recognizing the outstanding work of community and technical college educators at our member colleges, especially on this 25th anniversary year of the Excellence Awards,” said Edward J. Leach, NISOD, executive director. “We are thrilled to have been joined by so many colleagues and their family members during our annual celebration of outstanding Excellence Award recipients.”

Excellence Award recipients were celebrated during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence in Austin last month. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially-cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon.

The LSC faculty members honored are:


Aaron Alon

Chiung Yao Ho

Kimberly Lane

Blake Ellis


Steve Davis

Lisa Darling


Victoria Saunders

Romana Cortese

Kevin Sumrall

Lana Myers

LSC-North Harris

Lashun Griffin

Brian Kyser

Marcy Delesandri

Charles Treviño


Patricia Lyon

Sean Tiffee

Janie Filoteo

Maria del Carmen Marin-Ocaña

LSC-University Park

Rick Smalley

Gina Sprowl

In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the conference program with a special icon. All Excellence Award recipients and their colleges will also be listed in a multipage display in a special edition of Community College Week.

Created in 1978, the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) is a consortium of community and technical colleges that share a commitment to supporting excellence in teaching, learning and leadership. NISOD supports its member colleges by providing professional development resources and learning experiences, including practitioner publications, webinars, the annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, the NISOD Excellence Awards, and more. For more information about NISOD, visit www.nisod.org.

Read more here: http://www.yourhoustonnews.com/magnolia/news/lone-star-college-faculty-recognized-by-national-organization/article_d992a0f4-972e-52a6-9197-e8df8ec91fa0.html