Text TEXAS To 48065 - Join Senator Creighton and Let Texas Run Texas

Senator Creighton Supports Refusing Syrian Refugees in Texas

November 20, 2015

On November 17, 2015, Senator Creighton joined with Texas Conservative Coalition in sending the following letter to Governor Abbott. It expresses support for Gov. Abbott’s stance on Syrian refugees in Texas.

November 17, 2015

The Honorable Greg Abbott
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 12428
Austin, Texas 78711-2428

Dear Governor Abbott:

The Texas Conservative Coalition (TCC) supports your principled position on refusing to accept Syrian refugees in Texas, and directing the Texas Health and Human Services Commission’s Refugee Resettlement Program not to participate in the resettlement of any Syrian refugees in the State of Texas. The safety of Texans must be paramount.

As you rightfully point out in your letter to President Obama: The threat posed to Texas by ISIS is very real. The events in Garland earlier this year are a stark example of this. There is simply no way to properly vet Syrian nationals, among whom may be terrorists. It goes further than that.  One of the attackers in Paris, France used a fake Syrian passport to gain entry before helping slaughter scores of Parisians.

If the Administration does not change course, President Obama may spark another immigration crisis of his own doing. In the summer of 2014, Texas was flooded with unaccompanied migrant children overwhelming the border, and necessitating deployment of the Texas National Guard. Consequently, the Legislature made $800 million available to help stem border-related crime. Nonetheless, local communities across the state are still dealing with the ramifications of that crisis. We cannot afford another concocted immigration crisis, now or in the future.

We are available to assist your office, and we are prepared to take legislative action when the time comes.

Senator Paul Bettencourt
Senator Brian Birdwell
Senator Donna Campbell
Senator Brandon Creighton
Senator Craig Estes
Senator Bob Hall
Senator Kelly Hancock
Senator Don Huffines
Senator Lois Kolkhorst
Senator Jane Nelson
Senator Charles Perry
Senator Charles Schwertner
Senator Larry Taylor
Senator Van Taylor
Representative Charles “Doc” Anderson
Representative Rodney Anderson
Representative Trent Ashby
Representative Cecil Bell Jr.
Representative Dwayne Bohac
Representative Dennis Bonnen
Representative Greg Bonnen
Representative Cindy Burkett
Representative DeWayne Burns
Representative Dustin R. Burrows
Representative Angie Chen Button
Representative Giovanni Capriglione
Representative Byron Cook
Representative Myra Crownover
Representative Tony Dale
Representative Gary W. Elkins
Representative Wayne Faircloth
Representative Pat Fallon
Representative Dan Flynn
Representative James Frank
Representative John M. Frullo
Representative Craig Goldman
Representative Patricia Harless
Representative Jason Isaac
Representative Phil King
Representative Stephanie Klick
Representative Matt Krause
Representative Brooks Landgraf
Representative Jodie Laubenberg
Representative Jeff Leach
Representative Will Metcalf
Representative Morgan Meyer
Representative Rick Miller
Representative Geanie Morrison
Representative Jim Murphy
Representative Andrew Murr
Representative Dennis Paul
Representative Dade Phelan
Representative Larry Phillips
Representative Debbie Riddle
Representative Matt Rinaldi
Representative Scott Sanford
Representative Mike Schofield
Representative Matt Shaheen
Representative Kenneth Sheets
Representative Ron Simmons
Representative David Simpson
Representative Stuart Spitzer
Representative Drew Springer
Representative Ed Thompson
Representative Scott Turner
Representative Gary VanDeaver
Representative James White
Representative Paul Workman
Representative John Wray
Representative Bill Zedler