Conroe Courier: Creighton, Toth, Williams receive pro-life awards

September 19, 2013

Conroe Courier: September 18, 2013

About 10 members of Montgomery County Right to Life represented the county at Friday’s Texas Right to Life’s 16th Annual Celebration of Life in Houston, with some of the county’s state legislators receiving recognition.

MCRTL President Dr. Joe Morrison, Vice President Martha Foerster, Larry Foerster, Director Teresa Strack, Tim and Donna Rodgers, Patty Schultz and Ed and Lynne Carroll Cannan attended the sold out event at the Westin Galleria Hotel.

House District 15 Representative Steve Toth, House District 16 Representative Brandon Creighton and District 4 State Senator Tommy Williams were among those receiving awards and recognition for their consistent pro-life voting.

Governor Rick Perry attended the event and received the Lifetime Achievement Award by TRTL President Dr. Joseph Graham.

Perry said that the legislative session achieved a major victory by banning abortions when studies show that babies feel pain and requiring abortion clinics to meet sensible health and safety standards.

Also in attendance was Norma McCorvey, the Jane Roe in Roe vs. Wade, who is an outspoken pro-life advocate.

“The ballroom was filled with guests, including many Texas legislators responsible for passing another historic bill to protect women’s health,” Lynne Carroll Cannan said.

Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott recounted the life-sustaining efforts of Texas Right to Life and those that support their cause to promote a culture of life and hope to the citizens of Texas, Carroll Cannan said.

Co-Executive Director of Texas Right to Life Elizabeth Graham presented the Pro-Life Representative of the Year Award to the Honorable Jodie Laudenberg and the Pro-Life Senator of the Year Award to the Honorable Glenn Hegar, for their tireless efforts to protect human life through HB 2.

View the full article here